Wisconsin granted federal major disaster declaration

Metro Wire Staff

Gov. Tony Evers today announced that Wisconsin has been granted a major disaster declaration for the entire state as a result of the COVID-19 pandemic.

The declaration provides access to Public Assistance programs for all 72 Wisconsin counties and the state’s federally recognized tribes.

In a media statement on Saturday, Evers said he was “grateful for the swift action of the federal government.”

“The assistance granted today will help ensure Wisconsin can gain access to critical assistance as we continue our work to respond to this pandemic,” he said.

The declaration opens Wisconsin up to additional federal dollars for public and direct assistance programs, as well as statewide hazard mitigation, and certain individual assistance programs like crisis counseling, community disaster loans, and the Disaster Supplemental Nutrition Program.

The major disaster declaration covers assistance to public entities and will cover eligible projects submitted by counties, cities, townships, tribes, and certain private, not-for-profit organizations.

Local governments in the declared counties are now eligible for federal assistance and should contact county emergency management directors for further information. Under the program, FEMA provides 75 percent of eligible costs, while the remaining 25 percent is the responsibility of state and local agencies.