United Way honors organizations, individuals, for 2019 campaign support

By Patrick Lynn

The United Way of Portage Co. honored dozens of volunteers and local businesses this month for their support of the 2019 fundraising campaign.

Awards were handed out during the annual recognition luncheon banquet on Feb. 12, held at the Holiday Inn & Convention Center.

Professor Corey Huck delivered the keynote address, “The Health Aspects of Community and Family Engagement.” The 2019 Drive Chair team of Doug Munsey, Jeff Budelier, and Les Dobbe also thanked the more than 240 United Way supporters who helped raise more than $3.2 million for community programs.

Major award winners included:

Pete & Laura McPartland received the Tina Peters Dedicated Service Award.

Ray Nass was awarded the Lifetime Achievement Award. The award honors individuals whose pioneering spirit and demonstrated support of United Way have made a lasting change in community conditions here in Portage County. Nass served as the United Way Drive Chair in 1977 and was board president in 1978.

Two teams received the Fritzie Marquard Volunteer of the Year Award. Molly Sankey and Heather Wynne of Ki Mobility earned the award for their “endless connections, ideas, and energy” during the 2019 campaign, according to a news release from the United Way, and the two were “instrumental” in the creation and organizing of the 2019 community kick-off event.

The second team to receive the Fritzie Marquard Volunteer of the Year Award was Dave Bakken and Kathy Davies for dedicating their time to move Scaffidi Sweepstakes vehicles.

For the fifth consecutive year, Sentry Insurance received the Million Dollar Circle Award after raising over $1.2 million during its 2019 campaign.

Erin Olson, Director of Human Development at CAP Services, received the Speakers Bureau Award.

Receiving Special Recognition Awards were Anne Leton McDill Elementary, Lynette Patoka of Bliss Educational Services Center, and Bev Staniak of Verso.

Timmy Cooper received the Board President award for serving as the United Way Board of Directors President in 2019.

The Plover Fire Department received the Campaign Coordinator Team of the Year Award for their “innovation and bravery in follow-through” on campaign incentives.

Spectra Print received the 2019 Community Spirit Award, a traveling award presented each year to an organization that demonstrates “outstanding corporate and employee support of United Way, exemplifies great community spirit, and defines what it means to LIVE UNITED.”

Verso, Associated Bank, Inclusa, Len Dudas Motors, and Ki Mobility received the Special Service Award for “commitment, leadership, and innovation through an internal campaign or on behalf of the community campaign.”

Roosevelt Elementary won the Education Services Award, which is awarded for outstanding effort from the community’s educational institutions.

Stevens Point Orthopedics received the Best New Campaign Award, which is awarded to an organization with a new campaign that demonstrates campaign best practices and concerted effort in support of the community through United Way.

Verso received the Corporate Volunteer Engagement Award for providing and promoting volunteer engagement opportunities for its employees.