fbpx

UW-Stevens Point planetarium offers public programs in July

Metro Wire Staff

Revisit the cosmos this summer at the Allen F. Blocher Planetarium at the University of Wisconsin-Stevens Point.

Public programs are offered with limited seating eight times a week through July 21.

Programs are offered nightly at 6 and 7:30 p.m. Monday through Wednesday and at 2 and 3:30 p.m. Sundays, except Sunday, July 4. The planetarium is located on the second floor of the UW-Stevens Point Science Building, 2001 Fourth Ave., Stevens Point. Metered parking is available in Lot D behind the building or free in all university lots after 7 p.m. and on weekends. Programs are free of charge, however, donations are appreciated.

Each show is limited to 10 guests. Preregistration is required by calling 715-346-2120 weekdays between 8 a.m. and 2 p.m. or by emailing requests to [email protected] Please provide your name, your choice for the day and time of your program, number of participants, and phone or email. Face coverings will be required inside the building.

In addition, special showings may be scheduled for groups of 5-10 for any of the planetarium’s programs for a fee of $25. To learn more, call 715-346-2120 or fill out the online reservation request form at www.uwsp.edu/physastr/plan_obs/.

The July schedule is as follows:

Monday, July 5: From Earth to the Universe
Tuesday, July 6: IBEX: Search for the Edge of the Solar System
Wednesday, July 7: Two Small Pieces of Glass – The Amazing Telescope
Sunday, July 11: Back to the Moon for Good
Monday, July 12: Seeing! A Photon’s Journey Across Space, Time, and Mind
Tuesday, July 13: Phantom of the Universe – The Hunt for Dark Matter
Wednesday, July 14: From Earth to the Universe
Sunday, July 18: Two Small Pieces of Glass: The Amazing Telescope
Monday, July 19: Cosmic Castaways
Tuesday, July 20: The Hot and Energetic Universe
Wednesday, July 21: Back to the Moon for Good

error: Alert: Content is protected !!