SPACVB names new board members

Metro Wire Staff

The Stevens Point Area Convention and Visitors Bureau (SPACVB) have named its new board members and officers for 2019.

Noall Silvester, Holiday Inn, has been named chair; Sarah Jo More, The Main Grain Bakery, has been named vice chair; Richard Holden, member-at-large, has been named treasurer; and Sherry Noska, Cobblestone Hotel & Wissota Chophouse, has been named secretary.

Three new board members were elected: Brian Cummins, Great Northern Distilling, Kathy Ostrowski, Team Schierl, and Richard Holden, member-at-large. One outgoing board member, Amy Boston of Hampton Inn, was thanked for her years of service.

The Stevens Point Area Convention and Visitors Bureau is an economic and community development organization whose purpose is to expand Portage County’s economy by attracting conventions, sporting events and leisure tourists to Portage County.

Millions of dollars from visitor spending and increased tax revenues are generated to increase commerce, sustain jobs and to create a desirable destination, according to a news release from the organization.

For more information on the Stevens Point area, visit