Several New Candidates for County Races

Metro Wire Staff

The Portage Co. Board of Supervisors will see a drastic change in its membership come April, as nearly one-third of the board’s long-time incumbents have announced their respective retirements from elected office.

All 25 board seats are up for reelection on April 3, many with only one candidate. Each representative serves one-year terms.

Marion Bud Flood, who represents Ward 6, Ward 7 representative Dan Dobratz, Larry Sipiorski from Ward 8, Bo DeDeker of Ward 8, 12th Ward Supervisor Don Butkowski, Jerry Walters of Ward 17, and Phil Idsvoog, long-time County Board Chairman and representative of Ward 16, have all announced they will not run for reelection in April.

There is no candidate for Ward 16, and Ward 25 has three candidates.

The primary election is scheduled for Feb. 20.

Also up for grabs is the County Executive spot. Current Executive Patty Dreier announced her non-candidacy late last year.

Running for the county’s top administrative position are Jami Gebert, who currently works as Dreier’s assistant; Chris Holman, a local farmer and military veteran; and Matt Jacowski, a junior high tech ed teacher and current County Board Supervisor.

Two other residents who pulled paperwork to run for the seat are former County Executive Mark Maslowski and former School Board Member Alex Kochanowski. Both men later withdrew their names from consideration.

Candidates for County Board:

Ward 1
Vinnie Miresse

Ward 2
Chris Doubek

Ward 3
Meleesa Johnson

Ward 4
David Medin

Ward 5
Julie Morrow

Ward 6
Mildred E. Neville

Ward 7
Dave Ladick

Ward 8
Joan M. Honl

Ward 9
Andrew Boden
Ntxhais “Chai” Moua

Ward 10
Bob Gifford

Ward 11
Stan Potocki

Ward 12
Mike Splinter

Ward 13
Donald Jankowski
James A. Carpenter

Ward 14
James Gifford

Ward 15
Allen Haga Jr

Ward 16

Ward 17
Dennis Raabe

Ward 18
Larry Raikowski

Ward 19
Dale O’Brien
Melinda I. Osterberg

Ward 20
Charles Gussel
Ron Becker

Ward 21
Tim Corcoran
Jeanne Dodge

Ward 22
Justin Isherwood
Matt Jacowski

Ward 23
Barry Jacowski

Ward 24
Gerry Zastrow

Ward 25
James Zdroik
Anne Abbott
Robert A. Lord

error: Alert: Content is protected !!