All city incumbents take out re-election paperwork

By Brandi Makuski

All six Stevens Point City Council members up for re-election in April have taken out candidacy paperwork, along with Mayor Mike Wiza and City Clerk Paul Piotrowski.

City council seats in odd-numbered districts—a council majority—are up for a new two-year term on April 2. Incumbents are Tori Jennings (1); Cindy Nebel (3); Meleesa Johnson (5); Mary Kneebone (7); Mary McComb (9); and Shaun Morrow (11).

Challengers for District 9 and the mayor’s office have also retrieved candidacy paperwork.

As of Tuesday, Jennings is the only candidate to have returned the necessary documents securing their place on the spring ballot, according to City Clerk Paul Piotrowski. Her documents were certified by the clerk’s office Monday, he said.

Council members are paid $4,800 annually, with an additional $200 paid for whoever serves in the role of council president. The mayor’s office will earn $75,038 in 2019, with incremental increases to $77,312 by 2022. The city clerk’s salary next year is $67,293.

Candidates interested in running for city council are required to obtain 20-40 signatures from the district in which they run. Candidates for city clerk and mayor, both four-year offices, will need to collect 200-400 signatures from city residents. The deadline to return necessary paperwork is Jan. 2.

Candidacy papers are available from the city clerk’s office, 1515 Strongs Ave., or online from the Wisconsin Elections Commission website.